Go To Content Top
About TRES
Home > About TRES

About TRES


Administration BuildingMemorial stoneThe station, formerly named Tea Manufacture Experiment Station under the Production Bureau ofthe Formosa Governor-General’s Office, was established in 1903. In order to develop and promote Taiwan tea, it was reorganized in 1968 as Taiwan Tea Experiment Station and to which were added Wunshan, Yuchih, Taitun and Tunding branches. Meanwhile, it was reorganized in 1999 as Taiwan Tea Experiment Station, Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan. In 2003, the station had new English name, Tea Research and Extension Station (TRES).
There are five main divisions of research and three offices in the headquarters of the TTES, namely the Departments of Tea Agronomy, Tea Manufacture, Tea Machinery, Tea Extension and Tunding Branch as well as Offices of Secretary, Personnel Affairs and Accounting. The station and its 3 branches are responsible for the experiment & research of Taiwan tea industry, improvement of cultivation & processing technology, extension & education. The TRES is a unique professional organization for tea guidance and promotion with the affairs covering all tea plantations in Taiwan.